Transmission slippage and squeal.

Toyvo

• Member ID:  502
  • Content Count:  7

Hi all, I am a seasoned mechanic working for a deer lease maintaining equipment. At the lease we have 2 Polaris ranger 800, 1 Ranger Crew 800, 4 Polaris sportsman's (one of those is an MV7). Being tired of replacing wheel bearings, ball joints, suspension bushings, tie rod ends, and axles I pushed for a change. We now have 1 2018 CanAm Defender Texas addition (almost 2 years old), and 2 2019 Defenders (1 year old and 1 month old). The 1 year old gets very little use and has only 200 hours. It has developed a slip and a squeal on normal acceleration from a stop. after consulting my dealer I replaced the belt and it stopped slipping and quit making noise. After 2 weeks of use (maybe 3 hours) it has begun slipping and squealing again. I saw no unusual problems with either clutch when I replaced the belt. Any suggestions?

• Member ID:  133
  • Content Count:  692

Not much to go on but I suspect that you are using Hi range even in soft or uneven conditions, this can contribute to belt slip, premature wear and squeal.

If you are on flat ground and the squeal still happens I would take a close look at the primary spring to see if it is not broken and at the same time blow out and clean both the belt surface area and the internals from belt dust. If the primary looks fine have a look at the secondary spring for breakage or a broken button? Any chance you got water into the belt case? Good luck with the diagnosis but 3 hrs. on a new belt is definitely not acceptable.🙂

• Like 1

After reading another post you replied to, you said something about seasoning a belt. What are you referring to? Also I can't vouch for how the other guy's are driving this unit but I am pretty sure they don't use low range unless they are off road and under 15 mph. 

• Member ID:  338
  • Content Count:  265