Is this a bad time to purchase a new Defender?

Tnjetjock

• Member ID:  757
  • Content Count:  1

I have been considering the purchase of a new Defender for two months now but was told by someone in "the know" that it might not be a good time.  Of course this does make sense to me considering inventories are extremely low and the wait times for a new Defender are approaching two months, if it is a unit that the dealer doesn't already have.  Rebates and incentives are long gone and dealers don't have to come off the price much or at all to move their units. Compounding this is the fact that the used market is non-existent.  What are your opinions?  

• Member ID:  133
  • Content Count:  692

The Defender line up usually has incentives in early Spring to get the sales started, however, if you have use for it through the winter, now is as good a time as any if you can find what you want.😉

• Member ID:  1
  • Content Count:  244

Welcome to the forum!  This might be more of a regional/inventory issue. Is there a specific reason why it wouldn't be a good time?

• 1 month later...

• Member ID:  405
  • Content Count:  45

On 11/16/2020 at 8:07 AM, Tnjetjock said:

I have been considering the purchase of a new Defender for two months now but was told by someone in "the know" that it might not be a good time.  Of course this does make sense to me considering inventories are extremely low and the wait times for a new Defender are approaching two months, if it is a unit that the dealer doesn't already have.  Rebates and incentives are long gone and dealers don't have to come off the price much or at all to move their units. Compounding this is the fact that the used market is non-existent.  What are your opinions?  

I totally agree with your statement. My local dealership has no Defenders in stock and is unsure of the availability.

• Member ID:  274
  • Content Count:  639